Metropolis Records

search menu



DIGITAL (2015) · Listen & Buy on Bandcamp

Also available:
CD $12.98
Vinyl · Vinyl $14.00

IAMX is the solo project of Chris Corner; a UK songwriter, multi instrumentalist, singer, record producer and video artist. Corner was also a founding member of the electro/trip hop band Sneaker Pimps. IAMX started life in 2004 with the release of the debut album ‘Kiss+Swallow'. Considered an underground classic it shaped the unique ‘Glam Noir' IAMX sound and paved the way for 4 more cult albums; The Alternative, Kingdom of Welcome Addiction, Volatile Times, and The Unified Field.

The creation of this new record, called Metanoia, was initially overshadowed by a big change in Chris' life.

“There was a point when I believed I would never make another record,” explains Chris, concerning IAMX's sudden break from recording and touring a few years ago due to chronic insomnia. “I associated my career with everything that was hurting me, but slowly I managed to filter out the poison and get back to what I really love.”

‘Happiness' is the first track released from the upcoming album ‘Metanoia', but it also marks a geographical shift for Corner, who left the dark and oppressive streets of Berlin for the sunnier, temperate climes of Los Angeles to seek inspiration and escape. “Berlin was a playground that gave me room and confidence to pursue IAMX fearlessly,” he says. “In some ways, it made me self-indulgent, which I don't regret, but I also fell into a dark hole in Berlin. I found myself always making music in the deep winter. I felt totally alone in my work – burnt out and afraid of the future.” Thankfully, Los Angeles provided an antidote… a change of environment that afforded him the ability to continue with IAMX. “Being in LA gives me a wider, more adult perspective on my life and my work. I feel more grown-up here.” A gorgeous intersection of electronics and Corner's fragile yet commanding voice, ‘Happiness' is trademark IAMX but jacked up with a fresh sense of urgency. “It feels purer in concept and execution. My intention was to go back to one man, one machine- all electronic and self-contained,” He explains. “I limited my sound to drum machines, a few synthesizers and piano samples. It helped me get back to the essence of IAMX and made the recording process much easier, giving me room to focus on the vocal performance and the message.”

Chris has now put the final caresses to his upcoming sixth IAMX album. “I am proud and exhilarated to announce the creation of the new album, and ecstatic my musical bastard child has got this far. There is a simplicity to the sound that takes me back to my earlier work. It is purely electronic, lustful dystopian Man versus Machine.”

Like an electro glam soundtrack to a Jan Svankmajer film, IAMX - Metanoia mixes Corner's erotically charged dynamic vocals with fresh intricate electronic production, melancholia and piercing lyrics. Music that is as brutal as it is emotional.

Track List

01. No Maker Made Me
02. Happiness
03. North Star
04. Say Hello Melancholia
05. The Background Noise
06. Insomnia
07. Look Outside
08. Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me
09. Aphrodisiac
10. Surrender
11. Wildest Wind