Metropolis Records

log in account_circle search menu

Electric Six


DIGITAL (2009) · $8.90   add to cart Buy on Bandcamp

Also available:
CD $12.98

In the book of Revelation it is written, “When God was done laying down the law from Dan to Bathsheba, He needed a place to kick back and yodel and a place where His infinite riches could earn 20% and where He and His family could be spared the wrath of the Nazi war machine. It was on that day that God created Switzerland.” Electric Six from Detroit is a collective of spiritually bankrupt people. But they found meaning in the above biblical passage. They understood that God, love Him or hate Him, knew how to make a heck of a country when He wanted to. Electric Six loves to yodel, loves to make money and loves to sit on the political fence. So it was inevitable that their next album would be called simply…..”Switzerland”. “Switzerland” offers up thirteen songs of all styles, sounds, genres and themes. Wanna have a good time? We can do that! Wanna wallow in regret? We can do that! Wanna get real deep and examine why we are here and who God is? We can do that! We can do that! From the bouncy, peppy “I Buy the Drugs” to the Def Leppard/Journey-esque “Night Vision” to the super-smooth “Infected Girls”, old school E6 mavens will find just the right amount of puerile yet groovy (and vaguely intellectual) concoctions that make them want become one with their aggression. Sex is still there to be had, skulls are still there to be smashed. It's all good. But life is more than just a 24- hour party. Just ask Rush Limbaugh or Sean Hannity. There comes a time when you inevitably ask “Why am I here?”, “Is there a heaven and a hell?”, “What happens to me after I'm dead?” and “Are you my mother?” The answers may or may not be found in the tracks entitled “The Band in Hell”, “Pink Flamingos” and “There's Something Very Wrong With Us So Let's Go Out Tonight”. Electric Six is not afraid to explore the unknown and publish the results. And the results sound good, baby. Real good. To summarize, “Switzerland” is Electric Six's finest record to date. It is a feel-good, drive-around-in-your-car-with-the-top-down summer staple. That's why it's being released in September.

Listen & Buy

The Band In Hell3:19$ 0.89buy mp3
I Buy The Drugs3:23$ 0.89buy mp3
Mr. Woman2:53$ 0.89buy mp3
Night Vision4:04$ 0.89buy mp3
Infected Girls3:33$ 0.89buy mp3
Pulling The Plug On The Party2:56$ 0.89buy mp3
Rubber Rocket3:37$ 0.89buy mp3
Pink Flamingos2:43$ 0.89buy mp3
I Wish This Song Was Louder3:15$ 0.89buy mp3
Slices Of You4:20$ 0.89buy mp3
There's Something Very Wrong With Us So Let's Go Out Tonight4:24$ 0.89buy mp3
Germans In Mexico3:01$ 0.89buy mp3
Chocolate Pope1:02$ 0.89buy mp3